skip navigation

Fall Sports Start August 1st - student athlete eligibility guidelines, dates, times and contact information

Student / Athlete Eligibility guidelines: Each prospective student athlete must

1. be an enrolled and residency verified student at Wilson or a DCPS school that does not offer the sport.

2. have at least a 2.0 GPA or better in the most recent advisory.

(Yearend GPA can be used for eligibility in a fall sport. Incoming new freshman are eligible for fall sports.)

3. not have turned 19 before July 1st of the current school year.

4. turn in the following forms before trying out: Forms are online at www.wilsonhs.org

• Universal Health Certificate – Good for 1 calendar year from date of exam.

• Parent Consent Form – needed for each sport

• Emergency treatment Form – needed for each sport

• Signed Impact testing & Head Up Concussion forms

• Action plans for Asthma and Anaphylaxis as necessary

Completed Athletic Forms are required before trying out!

The forms are located below

Transfer students are ineligible for one year unless they meet one of the exceptions as outlined in the DCIAA handbook, page 36, to be eligible: https://thedciaa.com/ourpages/auto/2013/9/5/66468196/2017-2018%20DCIAA%20Athletics%20Handbook.pdf

 

Fall Sports Start Dates & Coaches Emails

Varsity and JV Football – Tryouts began on Monday, August 1st at 4pm on the turf.

                  Interim Coach – Jacob Williams                                                                         jacob.williams@dc.gov

                  JV Head Coach – Seneca Surles                                                                           seneca.surles@dc.gov

Girls Volleyball – Tryouts began on Monday, August 6th from 4:30pm in the aux gym. JV August 13th.

                  Head Coach – Dr. Perette Arrington                                                               perette_arrington@yahoo.com

                  Assistant Coach – Patrice Arrington                                                                patrice.arrington@dc.gov

Boys Varsity and JV Soccer – Tryouts begin on Monday, August 13th from 6am – 9am on the turf.

                  Head Coach – Jean-Claude Nkongolo                                                              jean-claude.nkongolo@dc.gov

                  JV Head Coach – Michael Kulpa                                                                         michael.kulpa@dc.gov

Girls Varsity and JV Soccer – Tryouts begin Monday, August 13th from 9-11am on the turf.

                  Head Coach – Kate Murphy                                                                                   kmurphy2416@yahoo.com        

                  JV Head Coach – Open

Boys and Girls Boys Cross Country – Tryouts begin on August 13th at 3:30pm – 5:30pm

                  Boys Head Coach – Nora Swift                                                                              nora.swift@dc.gov

                  Girls Head Coach – Emily Farrar                                                                          emily.farrar@dc.gov

Program Coach – Tia Clemmons                                                       tia.clemmons@dc.gov

Cheerleading – Tryouts begin August 8th & 9th @ 5pm in the Aux Gym

                  Head Coach – Taylor Hodge                                                                                   tshodge@syr.edu

Girls Field Hockey – Tryouts begin on August 20th at Deal MS at 3:45pm

                  Head Coach – Sarah Whitener                                                                             mdwhitener@aol.com  

Fall Ultimate Contacts – David Ohls                                                                                   daveohls@gamil.com

                                                    Aaron Besser                                                                                aaron.besser@dc.gov                       

Fall Crew Contact – Chris Rickard                                                                                        chris.rickard93@gmail.com

 

If you have questions please contact our Athletic Department Personnel

Athletic Director                                 Mitch Gore                            202.579.5335   mitch.gore@dc.gov

Athletic Coordinator                        Nadira Ricks                           202-320-7090   nadira.ricks@dc.gov

Athletic Trainer                                                      Jamila Watson                     202-439-6437   jamila.watson@dc.gov

Female Sports Liaison                       Patrice Arrington              202-288-3374   patrice.arrington@dc.gov

Fall Sports

Winter Sports

Spring Sports

    Wilson High School Athletics

    Wilson High School strives to build a safe, supportive, and welcoming community of dedicated and self-reflective learners, equipped to joyfully embrace opportunities for growth on the path of active citizenship. We make decisions based on student learning.

    Updates & News

    No news currently found.


    Athletic Staff

    Mitch Gore - Athletic Director  - mitch.gore@dc.gov

    Nadira Ricks - Athletic Coordinator - nadira.ricks@dc.gov 

    Patrice Arrington - Female Sports Liaison - patrice.arrington@dc.gov

    Jamila Watson - Lead Athletic Trainer - jamila.watson@dc.gov



    HsdcWilson WilsonHSDCAthletics HsdcWilson


    Woodrow Wilson High School Sponsors

    Interested in becoming a sponsor of Woodrow Wilson High School?

    Sponsored by Become a sponsor

    Become a sponsor

    Visit Website

    What makes you great? Include a sentence or two about your organization here. 

    Sponsored by Become a sponsor

    Become a sponsor

    Visit Website

    What makes you great? Include a sentence or two about your organization here. 

    Sponsored by Become a sponsor

    Become a sponsor

    Visit Website

    What makes you great? Include a sentence or two about your organization here.