skip navigation

Fall Sports Start Dates

We are getting excited about our new school year, new turf field and new seasons!

Wilson High School Athletics strives to build a safe, supportive, and welcoming community of dedicated and self-reflective student athletes, equipped to joyfully embrace opportunities for growth on the path to becoming champions in life.

Fall Sports Start Dates & Times

Varsity and JV Football – Tryouts began on Monday, August 1st at 12pm report, on the turf at 4pm.
Varsity Head Coach – Mark Martin mark.martin@k12.dc.gov 

Cheerleading – Practice begins August 8th at 5:30pm in the Aux gym
Head Coach – Liz Lancaster africaelancaster@yahoo.com 

Girls Volleyball – Tryouts began on Monday, August 12th from 4:30pm in the main gym. JV on August 19th
Head Coach – Dr. Perette Arrington perette_arrington@yahoo.com 
Assistant Coach – Patrice Arrington patrice.arrington@k12.dc.gov 

Boys Varsity and JV Soccer – Tryouts begin on Monday, August 19th from 6:30-8:30am on the turf.
Head Coach – Jean-Claude Nkongolo jean-claude.nkongolo@k12.dc.gov 
JV Head Coach – Michael Kulpa michael.kulpa@k12.dc.gov 

Girls Varsity and JV Soccer – Tryouts begin Monday, August 19th from 9-11am on the turf.
Head Coach – Kate Murphy kmurphy2416@yahoo.com 
JV Head Coach – Victor Martinez victor.martinez@k12.dc.gov 

Boys and Girls Boys Cross Country – Tryouts begin on August 21st at 6pm
Girls Head Coach – Emily Farrar emily.farra@k12.dc.gov 
Boys Head Coach – Tia Clemmons tia.clemmons@k12.dc.gov 

Girls Field Hockey – Tryouts begin on August 26th at Deal MS at 3:45pm
Head Coach – Sarah Whitener mdwhitener@aol.com 

Fall Ultimate - Practice begins on August 26th @ 7pm
Head Coach – David Ohls daveohls@gmail.com 
Assistant Coach - Aaron Besser aaron.besser@k12.dc.gov 

Fall Crew - Varsity starts on Aug 28th, Freshman/Novice on Aug 30th
Girls Head Coach – Chris Rickard chris.rickard93@gmail.com
Boys Head Coach - Joe McMullin mcmullinjoe@gmail.com 

Student / Athlete Eligibility guidelines: Each prospective student athlete must…
1. be an enrolled and residency verified student at Wilson or a DCPS school that does not offer the sport.
2. have at least a 2.0 GPA or better in the most recent advisory. 
(Year End GPA can be used for eligibility in a fall sport. Incoming new freshmen are eligible for fall sports.)
3. not have turned 19 before July 1st of the current school year.
4. turn in the following forms before trying out: Forms are online at www.wilsonhs.org
• Universal Health Certificate – Good for 1 calendar year from the date of exam.
• Parent Consent Form – needed for each sport
• Emergency treatment Form – needed for each sport
• Signed Impact testing & Head Up Concussion forms
• Action plans for Asthma and Anaphylaxis as necessary

If you have questions please contact our Athletic Department Personnel

Athletic Director Mitch Gore 202.579.5335 mitch.gore@k12.dc.gov 
Athletic Coordinator Nadira Ricks 202-320-7090 nadira.ricks@k12.dc.gov 
Athletic Trainer Jamila Watson 202-439-6437 jamila.watson@k12.dc.gov 
Female Sports Liaison Patrice Arrington 202-288-3374 patrice.arrington@k12.dc.gov

Wilson High School Athletics

Wilson High School strives to build a safe, supportive, and welcoming community of dedicated and self-reflective learners, equipped to joyfully embrace opportunities for growth on the path of active citizenship. We make decisions based on student learning.

Updates & News

No news currently found.


    Wilson Tigers Official Sideline Store

    Get your official Tiger gear here and support the athletic department!

    Athletic Staff

    Mitch Gore - Athletic Director   mitch.gore@k12.dc.gov

    Nadira Ricks - Assitant Athletic Director     nadira.ricks@k12.dc.gov 

    Patrice Arrington - Female Sports Liaison  patrice.arrington@k12.dc.gov

    Jamila Watson - Lead Athletic Trainer  jamila.watson@k12.dc.gov



    HsdcWilson WilsonHSDCAthletics HsdcWilson

    Fall Sports

    Winter Sports

    Spring Sports


    Wilson High School Tiger Athletics Sponsors

    Interested in becoming a sponsor of Wilson High School Tiger Athletics?

    Sponsored by Become a sponsor

    Become a sponsor

    Visit Website

    What makes you great? Include a sentence or two about your organization here. 

    Sponsored by Become a sponsor

    Become a sponsor

    Visit Website

    What makes you great? Include a sentence or two about your organization here. 

    Sponsored by Become a sponsor

    Become a sponsor

    Visit Website

    What makes you great? Include a sentence or two about your organization here.